The Smoothie Sessions: Warm-Up

In March, 8 of my friends and I are starting a grand effort – we’re training for the Tower of Terror run in October, 2014!  Part of my training is going to be daily smoothies full of super foods, so I thought I’d use today to practice a bit…

Sara Seinberg makes it look so easy, effortlessly whipping up flavorful combos, but it’s hard to find the right balance!

This smoothie was close, but no cigar.  Between the thick texture (the chia seeds) and the flavor, this ended up feeling like I was drinking a really thin devil’s food cake batter.  That’s not inherently a bad thing, cake batter is delish, but it’s not really something that I want to drink a full 8 ounces of.

Oh well, I’ll try again tomorrow!

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Smoothie Sessions: Warm-Up

  1. Sara says:

    Check you out!!! This is fantastic, Alice! For 2 T chia, I usually add it to more like 10 or 12 oz of almond milk rather than 8. So maybe more almond milk or less chia?

    • Alice says:

      I started with just under 1T of chia, I really had no idea what to do with it so I just picked a number and gave it a try. Perhaps the problem is that I ground it up in a spice mill first?

      Honestly, I think in a shake that involves some kind of fruit, the texture would be welcome. But with this flavor combo, it just came out kind of… wrong. But this is how you learn!

Leave a Reply

