Happy St. Brigid’s Day!

“I’d sit with the men, the women of God, There by the lake of beer, We’d be drinking good health forever, And every drop would be a prayer.”

Find St. Brigid's crosses on Etsy!

Beautiful reed crosses from LauraTravisCarving on Etsy

St. Brigid has always fascinated me – the patron saint poets, blacksmiths, midwives, fugitives, and so much more! To me, she represents the spark of *possibility*, the vastness of what could be. To honor her, I’m going to go light a candle and make something!

I should like a great lake of beer for the King of Kings.
I should like the angels of Heaven to be drinking it through time eternal.
I should like excellent meats of belief and pure piety.
I should like the men of Heaven at my house.
I should like barrels of peace at their disposal.
I should like for them cellars of mercy.
I should like cheerfulness to be their drinking.
I should like Jesus to be there among them.
I should like the three Marys of illustrious renown to be with us.
I should like the people of Heaven, the poor, to be gathered around from all parts.

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

