Surviving the Winter Seas (Or, The Great Long Island Sound Crossing

Close your eyes and breathe with the waves. Fight it and you’ll get sick. Dive deep into the water and *feel* it. Then the wind just goes right through you.

20120113-202801.jpg

Boy, I knew I was in for a rough trip today but… Oy!

I’d like to take a moment to remind myself to appreciate the relative ease with which I’m able to make this journey, though. It makes me think about the great alpine mountain passes, the seasonal routes that can only be traveled a few months out of the year, the ice roads in the north, the GREAT oceanic journeys people were making hundreds of years before me.

Two bumpy hours out on the Sound? Starting to look pretty good.

The bags and mops are coming out now. Time to brave the last leg of the crossing out on the back deck. The waves won’t get me, but the smell might…

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Dear Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

