Why I’ll Be Watching the Royal Wedding

Despite my initial reluctance, I have decided I’m fully on board with the Royal Wedding-mania this week. I’ve heard a little backlash about this so far, so I just thought I’d elaborate on my reasons.

I know many people have dismissed this whole event as trite, irrelevant, etc. In my opinion, though, why begrudge the world a chance to be *joyous* together? There truly aren’t enough occasions to celebrate such a purely positive event. I just kind of like the feeling of being tapped into this.

The British coverage, overall, of this whole event just kind of makes my heart warm. They talk about the hats, the fashion, without all of the underlying sniping (granted, everyone looks smashing and elegant). They interview Catherine’s old classmates, and there is no baiting to try to get them to say something rude or mean. It’s all about the fairytale romance. The lovely girl, walking into Westminster a commoner and walking out a princess, on the arm of the man she’s had years to fall in love with on their own terms.

So at I’ll be getting up (or staying up till?) at 5am on Friday morning, and wishing the royal couple well with all my heart.

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

