Fat-Off: February

Stats:
Brendan – 270 (-10)
Jason – 243 (-0)
Alice – 274 (-1)

All plans formed around New Years seem to have the same arc – Enthusiasm, planning, brief spurts of action, good intentions fading into the big ol’ winter BLAH.

Our Fat-Off is no exception to that rule. I can’t speak for the boys, but I’ll tell you a little about my month. January, as usual, involved a lot of hiding from the cold, couches and blankets, sniffling over tea. This is not exactly an environment that fosters energy, movement. Maggie is one of my favorite “excuses” for exercise, but the combination of snowbanks making the roads nearly impassable and salt that could damage her paws meant the pup spent all of January getting her run on in the back yard.

I really should have seen this as an opportunity to focus on food. January could have been a month of winter vegetables and hearty soups.

Yeah, that didn’t happen.

Ok, so it’s not like it was junk food all the time (healthy veggie soup and chicken salad from Stew Leonards! Home-made pumpkin lasagna!) but when your molecules are chilling to the point of inaction, it’s just far too easy to comfort yourself with pasta and junk. How I lost even one pound is a mystery to me.

But it’s ok! I accept that January was a wash, I acknowledge that I could have done better, and I re-group for February. The sun is peeking out from behind the clouds, the snow is starting to melt, I even went for a rather pathetic run today. Things are looking up!

I asked the boys to say a few words about how the past month has been for them. Jason, the writer he is, responded eloquently (after a little prodding), but I still haven’t heard from Brendan yet. I’ll add his whenever he chimes in.

Jason’s January:

So one month in and nothing’s changed, weight-wise. That’s fine, because everything’s changed mentally. My line of work doesn’t really lend itself to eating healthy, physical activity or anything else of that sort, but now I’m looking to do what I can. Preparing meals ahead of time to bring to work, taking the stairs while in employment exile (I’ve been loaned to another paper, whose offices are on the fourth floor of a building), things like that.

The idea while I’m at this closer paper, though, was to go to the gym more often, not get fast food at all, and generally change my habits. The problem with those plans, though, is the execution thereof. Working half an hour closer doesn’t translate into getting in early, but rather sleeping in and completely undermining whatever plans I may have.

Fortunately, though, I’ve found ways around that. Didn’t go to the gym? That’s fine, because when I got home from work earlier this week, I grabbed a shovel and started hacking away at the ice in our driveway. Necessary maintenance AND cardiovascular exercise? Sounds good to me. So while no, I haven’t lost any weight, nor have I done everything I wanted, I’m maintaining right now, and am still motivated. That’s the most important part.

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Fat-Off. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

