Someone didn’t make it through the winter…

After nine brutal storms, packed relatively close together, it’s no surprise that we’ve been knee-deep in snow for some time now. However, in the past week we’ve actually had a few *nice* days, and for the first time in forever the snow drifts are actually getting smaller!

I took my dog out into the yard today, and while she was doing her business I had a little look around – looking to see what plants may have survived thus far, mentally tagging what could be thrown away out on the patio – and I noticed something tiny on one of the non-snow-covered bricks.

2-08-11 Tiny Spine

An itty bitty little spine fragment! Now, I don’t know what it is about me, but I can’t help myself. Any time I come across teeny tiny animal bones, I just want to bring them home and examine them. Lucky for me, this one was quite literally right in my back yard, not a far trip.

2-8-11 Tiny Spine

I wish I knew what animal this was from. It’s just over an inch long, and obviously only a fragment of a spine – I’m thinking possibly squirrel?

Either way, I just love photographing these kinds of finds…

2-8-11 Tiny Spine on Amaryllis

Oh, and my amaryllis is chugging along, right on schedule!

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

