F is for Fall, Food, Family…

Is there anything more beautiful than a crisp and windy October Sunday? Why yes, the rich and hearty meal at the end of said crisp and windy October Sunday.

Seriously, I believe fall was made for eating. I can get by on pretty much anything the rest of the year, but in fall I find myself craving slow-cooked soups, roasted veggies, and thick heavy breads. When that first chilly breeze rips that first orange leaf off of some poor unsuspecting tree, I MUST COOK.

I can’t cook just anything, though. Fall food is like comfort food on steroids. It’s gotta be rustic, chunky, warm… like a hug from a woodsy nature-lovin’ grandma.

This past weekend, boyfriend was in town! So Sunday seemed like the perfect time to invite the family over and make my first totally fall-centric meal:

  • Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Garlic Butter
  • Barley and Flax Bread
  • Pumpkin Lasagna
  • Fannie Farmer’s Apple Crisp

It was awesome! The food was great, the company was even better, and the post meal food coma was heavenly.

A few weeks ago, I made curried butternut squash and potato leek soups… I’ll post about those at some point, too!

Note: The pumpkin lasagna link above will automatically download a PDF of my recipe. I will, eventually, include PDFs of any of my own recipes, and links to other recipes where I can.

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Food, Good Enough Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

