Feeding Frenzy: Avocado Chicken Ranch Bowls

Last Saturday, my boyfriend and I were hanging out at my parents’ house. We were outside enjoying the crisp early fall weather and discussing dinner plans when I suddenly decided that I absolutely *had* to make this new dish I had been thinking about. We were celebrating a family friend’s birthday, what better time!

My boyfriend and I raced to the grocery store, then I got to work.

The Process - Making the Bowls
(Feel free to follow that pic back to flickr and look through the rest of the set!)

I love the avocado club rolls at the California Pizza Kitchen, and wanted to create my own dish with similar flavors. A few weeks ago I was in Stop and Shop and noticed a package of egg roll wrappers, it was time to give it a try! I gathered up the major elements – avocado, chicken, bacon, tomatoes – and gave it a go.

Assembling - Avocado Slices

They were a hit, I was so happy! Nothing makes a girl proud like a bunch of mumbles and nods :)

All in all, I think this is more of a summer dish, but sitting next to the toasty warm chiminea on that mild fall evening I could almost imagine the sun was shining on my shoulders.

Avocado & Chicken Bowls

No matter which season it is, these are absolutely delicious. Want to try them yourself? Just click this link for a PDF of my recipe. If you get a chance to try it out, I’d love to know what you think!

About Alice

Massage therapist, knitter, baker, animal lover, reformed pack-rat, sometimes-dancer, car-singer, and so much more.
This entry was posted in Food, Good Enough Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

